Emergency: All St. Louis County offices are now open to the public.
What to know when visiting a county building
Information on COVID-19, vaccines and testing

Elections & Voting



St. Louis County strives to ensure that the registration and election process is provided to all eligible citizens in accordance with applicable laws and rules in the most efficient, effective, and timely manner for St. Louis County and its municipalities.

2020 General Election Sample Ballot

2020 Polling Place Locations


Absentee Voting


If you are a resident of St. Louis County and want to vote by absentee ballot, you must complete and submit an absentee ballot application. Absentee ballots will be available 46 days before an election. Minnesota voters no longer need a reason to vote absentee.

You may check the status of your application or ballot on the Secretary of State website.

To apply online, click on the appropriate link below:

          Online Absentee Ballot Application

          Online Military/Overseas FPCA Application

To download a paper application, click on the appropriate link below:

          Paper Absentee Ballot Application

          Paper Military/Overseas FPCA Absentee Ballot Application

Applications should be returned to the County Auditor's office by mail, fax, or e-mail and will be forwarded to the appropriate city, town, or school district clerk if necessary.

St. Louis County Auditor
100 North  5th Avenue West, Room 214
 Duluth, MN 55802-1293

E-mail: elections@stlouiscountymn.gov
Fax: (218) 725-5060

Telephone: (218) 726-2385
Toll Free: 1-800-450-9777 (Minnesota only)

In-Person Absentee Voting Locations

In-Person Absentee Locations        
The cities below offer in-person absentee voting for their specific jurisdictions.  

City/Town Address Phone
Duluth, City 411 W 1st St, Duluth, 55802 (218) 730-5500
Babbitt  71 South Dr, Babbitt, 55706 (218) 827-3647
Biwabik, City 321 N. Main Street, Biwabik, 55708 (218) 865-4183
Buhl  300 Jones Ave, Buhl, 55713 (218) 258-3226
Chisholm 316 West Lake St, Chisholm, 55719 (218) 254-7902
Cook 127 S. River Street, Cook, 55723 (218) 666-2200
Ely 209 E Chapman St, Ely, 55731 (218) 226-5474
Eveleth 413 Pierce St, Eveleth, 55734 (218) 744-7563
Gilbert 16 S. Broadway Street, Gilbert, 55741 (218) 748-2232
Hermantown 5105 Maple Grove Rd, Hermantown, 55811 (218) 729-3600
Hibbing 401 E 21st St, Hibbing, 55746 (218) 262-3486
Hoyt Lakes 206 Kennedy Memorial Dr, Hoyt Lakes, 55750 (218) 225-2344
Mt. Iron 8586 Enterprise Dr S, Mt. Iron, 55768 (218) 748-7570
Rice Lake 4107 W Beyer Rd, Duluth, 55803 (218) 721-3778
Tower 602 Main Street Tower, 55790 (218) 753-4070
Virginia 327 S 1st St, Virginia, 55792 (218) 748-7500
City of Aurora and
Twp. of White
16 West 2nd Ave North, Aurora, 55705 (218) 229-2813

All township and St. Louis County residents can vote in-person at the County Auditor's Office at the following locations:        
Duluth Courthouse – drop box available at the Second Street entrance        
100 North 5th Avenue West        
Duluth, MN 55802-1293        
(218) 726-2385        
Virginia Government Services Center drop box available        
201 South 3rd Avenue West        
Virginia, MN 55792         
(218) 749-7104        
There are two options, the voter can place their ballot in the drop box or they can deliver it in-person during the hours listed below.        
Mon - Fri: 8am - 4:30 pm        
Saturday October 31: 10:00 am – 3:00 pm        
Monday November 2: 8:00 am – 5:00 pm        


If you are a candidate, the below listed links will answer frequently asked questions and provide useful election related information:

Election Results

Election Judge Interest Form


Phil Chapman
Deputy Auditor
Supervisor of Elections